Pat Woods - The Bard From Armagh
Home PageBiographyAlbums

Pat
When Pat Woods won the Entertainer of the Year in Ireland during the 1980’s he decided to go professional as a folk/ballad singer.

Home spun records quickly signed him on a 5-year recording contract. To date Pat has recorded 16 albums, he is a prolific song writer and has written several tracks on these albums.

He has toured many times in the U.S.A. playing the Irish festivals in cities of Chicago, Pittsburgh, Cleveland, Milwaukee, Muskegon, and recently played in the Regency casino in Las Vegas as well as several shows in other cities across the U.S.A. Pat has also recorded several shows for cable TV in Chicago.

He has toured many times in Scotland and England, writes a lot of his own material, which can be heard, on his recordings. In his live performances he can captivate his audience with his relaxed style and the explanation or the history of some of the songs that he sings.

The appearance of Pat Woods brought a new style and technique of folk singing to the Irish scene this artist has grasped the imagination of the public. The indefinable quality runs through all his songs his performances are strong, professional and competent, and his enthusiasm for his music and his fans is unwavering. Pat sings to the basic needs, desires and aspirations of the Irish people.

“If he sings it you can believe it.”

Pat really steps out from the rest a true artist has to feel his music and nobody exemplifies the best in Irish music more than he does.

Home Town

Keady MapPats home town is Keady Co. Armagh, lying to the south of Armagh City, is the largest of the local towns with an estimated population of over 3,000. The name Keady is recorded as long ago as 1674 in a letter for Symore Richardson to the Provost of Trinity College Dublin (the district was part of a grant of county Armagh lands to that college). However, the town did not emerge as an important centre until the mid 18th century when the use of waterpower led to the growth of great linen mills and factories.


Keady MonumentBy 1837, Keady was noted as being the centre of an important flourishing linen trade by Samuel Lewis in his "Topographical Dictionary of Ireland". The famous Keady Monument was erected by the local people to honor William Kirk, who through his mills at Keady and Darkley, provided so much economic prosperity in the area.


The town was also to become a centre of tailoring before the first World War, and the advent of the railway brought the town great commercial benefit, although the lines for both goods and passenger traffic have since closed. Situated on the river which flows from Clay Lake to the River Callan, Keady is noted chiefly for the 'Keady trout Lakes'.

Keady Mill
It is also of interest to the industrial archaeologist as the centre of a district with many derelict watermills. Tassagh Glen, just outside the town has mill and viaduct of monumental proportions. The newly restored mill in the centre of town offers the visitor a unique glimpse into Keady's fine industrial heritage. 

© Copyright 2012 Pat Woods. All Rights Reserved.
Website created and updated by McMullan Multimedia